Department profile

Other

Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department

Baxter Springs, KS · Cherokee County. Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department is a fire department, 1 station and 25 total personnel. According to the HIFLD fire-station federal registry (as of 2026-09), full equipment, coverage, and staffing data are below.

25
Total personnel
1
Stations
Not reported
Fire trucks
Not reported
EMS service

The verdict

Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department pairs modest national personnel with a headcount in line with the Kansas average.

42nd pct.
national personnel size
+14%
vs. Kansas average
1
station

National percentile ranks this department's personnel headcount against every listable U.S. department with reported staffing; the state comparison uses the same personnel figure against its own state's average. Both feed the verdict sentence and the chips above.

C
PlainFireData Composite Score
54/100
Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department

A staffing, equipment, EMS-integration, and federal-grant-funding composite benchmarked against every other USFA-registered department nationally, not a safety rating, response-time measure, or comparison of fire risk. Dimensions with no data on file are excluded and their weight redistributed, never counted as zero.

Staffing capacity C
25 personnel per station (national median 23.5)
Equipment readiness
No vehicle count on file for this department
EMS integration
Not an EMS-capable department (USFA registry)
Federal investment
No FEMA AFG grant award on file for this department
25 personnel · 1 station

Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department is a fire department serving Baxter Springs, KS (Cherokee County), with 1 station and 25 total personnel. According to HIFLD fire-station registry fields; among listable U.S. departments with reported personnel it ranks #13,048 of 22,440.

  • National personnel rank #13,048 of 22,440
  • KS personnel rank #103 of 431
  • 4.00 stations per 100 personnel
  • 7 other listed departments in Cherokee County

Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department vs. the national personnel distribution

Where this department's HIFLD-reported staffing sits among every listable U.S. fire department

25 Top 58% higher than 42% of 22,440 departments

Listable U.S. fire departments, banded by total personnel

Each bar is a band; taller bars hold more departments. The dashed line + filled bar mark this entry. Hover or tap any bar for its full count and share, and where it sits relative to this entry.

Source HIFLD fire-station registry · 2026-09-06

Dispatch plate

Sheet CK201 · Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department, KS 25 personnel · 1 station

PERS-SMALL · STA-1 · TYPE-OTHER · EMS-UNK · RANK-MID · PHOTO-FINISH · FEMA-NONE · BOOK-PART

  • PERS-SMALL 25
  • STA-1 1 station
  • TYPE-OTHER Uncoded type
  • EMS-UNK EMS pending
  • RANK-MID #13,048
  • PHOTO-FINISH ≈ Addieville Commun…
  • FEMA-NONE No AFG/SAFER
  • BOOK-PART 3/5 fields

Nearest personnel peer: Addieville Community Fire Protection District, IL (+ 0 personnel)

Instrument codes from this department’s HIFLD personnel and station counts, staffing type, EMS flag, listable personnel rank, photo-finish peer department, FEMA AFG/SAFER book, and field completeness, not a readiness rating.

Personnel neighbourhood

Nationwide HIFLD headcount poles and nearest peers, not a reprint of every KS department.

Department Profile

Type
Location
Baxter Springs, KS
FDID
CK201

Staffing vs the Kansas average

How Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department's personnel count compares to the typical department in Kansas. In-state it ranks #103 of 431 by personnel among listable departments with reported staffing. Nationally it ranks #13,048 of 22,440 on the same basis as the largest-departments ranking.

▲ 14% above the state average
Stations
1
State fire deaths/yr
45
KS departments
773

County roster geometry

Cherokee County HIFLD mix around Baxter Springs Volunteer Fire Department

Cherokee County: 8 departments, 126 personnel (0 volunteer / 0 career / 0 combination); EMS flag on 0% of departments. County / state rollup.

4.00 stations per 100 HIFLD personnel (1 station / 25 roster).

Photo-finish peer: Addieville Community Fire Protection District, IL (+0 personnel).

No FEMA AFG/SAFER awards on this FDID in USAspending (empty federal book).

Nationwide departments near 25 personnel

Photo-finish and same-type HIFLD neighbours for this FDID, not a reprint of every KS department.